NOTICE: In France the official star ratings are awarded and administered by the French Tourism Development Agency, ATOUT France. Please note that the star rating classification system for French hotels has recently changed. Official star ratings are voluntary and can now be awarded from 1-star...
CHATEAU CHOICES - FRANCE (PEG'S PICKS #B)
Tel: +33(0)1 34 87 44 25 - Fax: +33(0)1 34 87 44 40
If the Château of Villiers-le-Mahieu looks like a Middle-Age fortress this is because it was built in 1642 on the remains of a 13th century castle. Its many turrets and moat give this lovely château a particularly medieval air. A number of documents detailing gifts to abbeys make it possible to trace the history of the MAIZELAN family as far as the 14th century. In the Middle Ages, Hugues de MAIZELAN was Lord of Villiers-le-Mahieu. In 1240 Pierre de MAIZELAN, a knight of the realm, was summoned to Chinon to fight alongside his King, Saint Louis. In 1360, as a result of the treaty of Brétigny, Lord de MAIZELN was one of the hostages sent to the King of England to guarantee the surrender of the Count De Montfort. Not far from Villiers-le-Mahieu, the fief of Launay belonged at this time to the MESNIL-SIMON family. During the 15th century the seigneuries of both Villiers and Launay were in the hands of the MESNIL-SIMON family. As late as 1556 there are documents showing Lord Charles de MESNIL-SIMON claiming ownership of the seigneuries of Villiers, Launay and even Autouillet. It is only in the 17th century that we have evidence of the owner of the lands of Villiers-le-Mahieu being one Claude de BULLION, Garde des Sceaux then Surintendant des Finances in the reign of Louis XIII. Of his three sons it was Claude, Marquis of ATTILLY who inherited Villiers-le-Mahieu and built the château in 1642. Twenty years later, at the inauguration of the Château chapel bells, the register of names includes that of my Lord Philippe of CUISY, Equerry and Secretary to King Louis XIV and a member of the Fermiers Généraux, as the one and only Lord of Villiers-le-Mahieu. Just before the French Revolution, the château passed into the hands of one Nicolas de la HAYE, Conseiller du Roy and Lord of several fiefs, including Villiers-le-Mahieu. Later Baron CARUEL de SAINT-MARTIN, a deputy under the Second Empire, became its owner.
The 700 sq. m. Ultimate Spa...
1,000 sq. m. of multi-purpose reception rooms and private dining rooms...
21 hectare parkland grounds with rare trees...
Welcoming, traditional, top quality Restaurant - Lounge-Bar...
Tennis, swimming pool and golf for your leisure and pleasure.
From their website; Built in 1565 on the eleventh century fortifications surrounding the city, the Hostellerie Le Maréchal typically Alsatian with its renovated, welcomes you in its unique environment where everything is charming, quiet and delicacy. This building has welcomed within its walls in the late 17th century, Henri de La Tour d'Auvergne, Vicomte de Turenne and Marshal of France during a battle in the region near Turckheim. At this time the house was known as the Gasthof zum Schwartzenberg (Inn of the Black Mountains).
Many opportunities for sightseeing and cultural activities will make your stay in Colmar unforgettable.
The location of the hotel you can reach by foot all the cultural activities of the city. Around Colmar, some ideas of visits:
-Ecomuseum (www.ecomusee-alsace.fr) Bioscope (www.lebioscope.com)
-Neuf-Brisach, fortified city (Vauban) and entered in the UNESCO World Heritage. www.neuf-brisach.com
-Hunawihr, its fortified church, the Stork and Butterfly Garden
-Museum of Car (www.collection-schlumpf.com) and Railway in Mulhouse (www.citedutrain.com)
-The top Koenigsbourg-Castle (a must). www.haut-koenigsbourg.fr
-The Hohlandsbourg Castle www.chateau-hohlandsbourg.com
-The Maginot Line www.ligne-maginot.fr | www.lignemaginot.com
-Unterlinden Museum: There you will find the Isenheim altarpiece painted by Matthias Grünewald, a masterpiece of world painting.
-Bartholdi Museum: The museum dedicated to the famous sculptor Bartholdi who created the Statue of Liberty
-The Toy Museum and the Little Train: This is the museum that will delight young and old people...
Tel: +33 (0)4 70 59 14 95
Fax: +33 (0)4 70 59 11 88
An architectural masterpiece which links the Middle Ages with the Renaissance; fortress and ancestral home - the Chateau de Busset is an eloquent witness of the most fascinating times of French history. Since the end of the 15th century, it hasbeen the property of the non-reigning direct descendants of Saint-Louis.
At the time of the Crusades... The origins of the Castle of Busset resonate with the din of the weapons of the Templars - the religious and military knights who fought in the defence of the pilgrims in the Holy Land. Tradition maintains that the construction of the castle had commenced by the end of the 13th century on the site of a Commanderie during the time when Renand de Vichy was Grand Master of the Order of the Temple. The frescos that decorate the oratory of the south-east tower, which probably date from the end of the 14th century, bear witness to the strong sense of spirituality permeating that house.
The Orion tower... Covered by an octagonal roof, the Orion tower (opposite) received its name from the constellation which the Knights of the Temple enjoyed observing from its top.
To the origins of the family of France... The vicissitudes of history resulted in Busset falling to the feudal lord de Tourzel, Baron d'Alegre, and later his great-grand-daughter Marguerite getting married in 1498 to Pierre de Bourbon, Chamberlain of Louis XII. Since that moment the Bourbon Busset family have never left that estate.
From the fortified castle to the pleasant home... The marriage between Philippe de Bourbon Busset and Louise Borgia, daughter of the famous Cesare Borgia, brought a flavor of Italian Renaissance spirit to Busset that softened the character of the castle. In particular, Louise added a covered arcade to the ground floor, which reproduced the architectural rhythm of the cloisters, and a gallery on the first floor of the east wing, whose frescos have recently been re-discovered and restored.
The Cousin of Navarre... The influence of the Bourbon Busset family on history was considerable. Henri IV would not have honored the castle with his stay there in 1559 if he had not highly esteemed that family - which was the only one to lend its name to a province: le Bourbonnais. Moreover, Claude de Bourbon Busset, coutier of the King's Chamber, was raised by letters of 1586 to the rank of Count.
After the Revolution... Feats of armed combat were frequent among members of that illustrious family. Many of them bore high military titles even after the French Revolution, which proved to be a painful period... After the injuries had been healed in the 19th century, the restorations of Viollet-le-Duc and a number of interior conversions were completed in the castle. For example, the wooden panelling "en plis de serviette" of the Saint-Louis gallery or the painted coffered ceiling - additions which are harmoniously juxtaposed to the medieval parts such as the monumental fireplace in the grand salon.
Extra bed: 15 Euro
Animal Supplement (in few rooms only)
- 3-star hotel, member of the Châteaux Hôtel Collection
- 17th century Château
- 32 rooms full of character
(nine of which have air conditioning)
- Gastronomic restaurant
- Outdoor terrace
- Private garden and park (27 hectares)
- Private fishing lake
- Open-air swimming pool
- Table tennis
- 18-hole golf course, 15km away
- Safe available at reception
- Free Wi-Fi Internet access
- Private car park
- Pets welcome (subject to conditions), at a supplement of €15
- Weddings and parties
- Families welcome: cot, changing mat and high chair available on request
- Two rooms with disabled access
Fax : 02 96 83 05 36
e-mail : email@example.com
35550 Saint Just, France
Tel +41 79 948 5222
In Brittany between Saint Malo, the ile de Bréhat and Dinan. You will find every comfort in this refined chateau near the coast and several seaside resorts.
LOIRE VALLEY - FRANCE
Tel. (33) 02 47 96 16 16 - Fax : (33) 02 47 96 90 59
23, route de Fougères
Bernard et Véronique GATTOLLIAT
Email: firstname.lastname@example.org; email@example.com
Prices – See Website
Optional Extras such as Bouquets in Room, Champagne in Room, Chocolates, Bicycle rental are available. Please inquire about cost.
Fine restaurants in the region as well.
All rooms are air conditioned, have minibars, telephone, WiFi, Internet connections, satellite TV, and are NON-SMOKING. Doors are locked at 11:30 PM each night. Check-out before noon.
On the grounds: Beautiful new swimming pool and pool house, pond with ducks, bicycle rental, parkland, chapel.
Vicinity: Hot air balloon rides arranged, golf, horseback riding, tennis courts, Castle by Bike Tour, Loire vineyards, great Loire châteaux such as Cheverny, Chambord, Chenonceau, Blois, Amboise and others.
Situated in Anjou near Angers, only 2h30 from Paris, the Château des Briottières is at the gates of Brittany, of Normandy and the Loire Valley and is an ideal base for visiting the Châteaux de la Loire, heart of French history. If you are looking for a hotel near Angers,Nantes or accommodation for a family holiday, a romantic weekend, or on business, the Château des Briottières is perfect…..Its 50 hectares of English parkland , the guesthouse “Le Fruitier” for 20 years the favourite of guests from all over the world in search of tranquillity and prestige. François and Hedwige de Valbray welcome you.
“A new concept of hotel where you have the feeling of being in a private Château and luxury hotel at the same time. Reuniting refinement and comfort of a luxury hotel and the serenity of a private Château, the Château des Briottières provides you with a warm welcome and high quality food to enjoy your holidays and weekends – a holiday you will recommend to family and friends.
With 11 bedrooms in the Château with their period furniture, the 6 bedrooms in Le Fruitier, the open air heated swimming pool, horse riding, tennis and promenades in the park you can satisfy your every wish. With an excellent golf course 5Km away and the historical sites of the Pays de La Loire this is an ideal base for those who seek tranquillity, sporting activity or just want to immerse themselves in culture. Come to visit this wonderful historical and romantic family chateau very located in pays de la Loire or western Loire .
Fax : +33 2 47 52 11 18
Place Saint Jean
tél. +33 (0)4 66 82 59 45 - fax +33(0)4 66 82 84 83
The village baker gives us daily bread, croissants, pain au chocolate, focaccia etc ...
The unfortunate Louis XVI also stayed here, the country seat of his First Gentleman of the Bedchamber, Claude de Chamilly, during his flight to Varennes in 1791.
Tél (00.33) 03 26 59 30 08 - fax : 03 26 59 35 57
Originally, in the 14th century, the first castle Montbrault (meaning Mont des Bruyeres) was fortified, he had a walled enclosure, towers, moats, a drawbridge and a chapel. He also had a right to high justice. This meant that the Lord owns Montbrault could make the death penalty.
The castle was destroyed and burned in 1589 by the Chevalier Mercoeur and his troops. The same was Mercoeur League leader and Governor of Britain. Archives have left the names of the former owners, and we therefore know that Montbrault Castle was owned by the family in 1411 Husson. It passed by marriage to Du Hallay in 1420. It was sold legally in the family De Langan, Lords Wood in February 1620.
The land was given to Lord Caesar Langan by King Louis XIII for services rendered to the kingdom, to the point of the sword. At his death, Caesar Langan was buried in the chapel.
In 1789, during the French Revolution, the De Langan were still the owners.
The construction of the present castle began in 1903 and ended in 1906. The chapel was built on it in 1908. The complex was built by Le Bouteiller family, descendants of De Langan. The architect was Henry Mellet, famous in the area for the construction of many churches, and a few castles such as the Eclosel in Nouvoitou. The stone was used in the reconstruction is that of the former castle of the 14th century. Under the porch, we find a 16th century stone bearing the arms of Du Hallay and De Coëtquen.
The castle, built on a square plan, has three towers side by side at the junction of two buildings, two rectangular and one semi-circular. The berries are high in the front and rectangular, while the pass windows are smaller, and topped by a semicircular pediment. The chapel reuses including arched door and window brace the first castle.
The castle is under the protection of St. Anne. A magnificent granite statue, located 3 meters high, placed in a niche is present in the front entrance of the castle. It is the work of the son of the builder, and from the early twentieth century. A copy of this statue is also present in the chapel. Built in the spirit of 17th and 18th century neo regionalist Castle Montbrault wants light. To do manufacturers have placed windows face each other, which passes a crossing light from one side of the monument.
Composed of twenty pieces, Castle Montbrault offers approximately 500 m2 area. The living rooms are on three levels, which must be added the cellar, which was formerly used for domestic, present number of seven in 1906, and an attic. The cellar also housed the castle kitchen. Parts distribution is organized around the central staircase. This impressive by nature is made Hungarian oak and grows up to the attic.
The extensive that we offer for the site, allows us to see the campaign Vitre 20 kilometers.
Today the property consists Montbrault Castle, its chapel and 10 acres of meadow and forest. The chapel is still consecrated and is ready to resume service. The altar stone is always embedded in the altar. It was blessed by Pope Benedict XV in 1915, as evidenced by the Papal Bull present in the archives of the Castle is still present in the building.
Sent in early 2012 to new owners, the castle knows full recovery in respect of old materials. A few years before his death, the former owner, Countess Christiane Le Bouteiller, wanted "long life to his castle in good hands loving and respectful."